Patriots Pen and Voice of Democracy and Teacher of the Year

Jason Lambrecht - 5/7/2024

VFW Post 4055 Awarded Scholarships to local Students for their outstanding entries in both the Patriots Pen (PP) Essay contest and the Voice of Democracy (VOD) Speech contest. Of the 123 entries for the Patriots Pen theme "How Are You Inspired By America?” Scholarships were presented to the top students accompanied by their family members at a banquet in their honor at the Old Lions Club building in Platte City.

In addition, a Scholarship was awarded to the First Place entry for the Voice of Democracy theme "What Are The Greatest Attributes Of Our Democracy?” Speech.

The top eight Patriots Pen students and the First Place Voice of Democracy student’s entries were submitted to the VFW District 3 for competition with the top entries from 17 other VFW Posts within Northwest Missouri.


Voice of Democracy 

Sophia Bramble 1st Place


Patriots Pen

John Ordonia-1st, Reese Jannsen-2nd, Izzi Vann-3rd, Will Jackson-4th, Millie Parker-5th, Charlotte Schlake-6th, Elli Burres-7th, and Amelia Peterson-8th.

Post 4055 also Recognized and Presented a Trophy to Jared D. Lakey as the Post’s Middle School Teacher of the Year. Mr. Lakey was also nominated to VFW District 3 for consideration as their Middle School Teacher of the Year Award.